OAPI: What is it and which countries are included?

The Organisation Africaine de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OAPI) serves as a central registration system of intellectual property for 16 French-speaking African states. The organization, created by the Bangui Agreement March 2, 1977 is designed to afford member states the opportunity to work collaboratively, share resources and exchange ideas to meet economic and social development needs, and promote literary and artistic expression.  OAPI helps member countries to organize administrative strategies to protect property rights including copyrights, trademarks and patents.

OAPI treaty includes trademark protection in the following countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Togo.


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk