ARIPO: What is it and which countries are included?

The African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO) was originally formed as a way for English-speaking African nations to work collaboratively with one another to pool resources and exchange information in industrial property matters.  The ultimate purpose of ARIPO is to encourage technological advancements that support the economic and industrial development of its member countries.  This includes coordinating strategies that mutually benefit member countries, ensuring there is a trained staff available fluent in the administration of industrial property law and to create opportunities for training and development on industrial property matters.

ARIPO treaty includes trademark protection in the following countries: Botswana, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Namibia, Saint Tome and Principe, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zimbabwe.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk