What is a Community trademark?

The European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO), formerly named the Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market, administers the EU trademark(EUTM), called the Community Trade Mark (CTM) until March 2016An EUTM is a pending or formal registration of a trademark recognized across the entire EU community rather than acknowledged country by country. The mark holder does not have to reside in a member country to apply for the EUTM.

The countries that support this community registration are in the European Union, namely; Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the (soon to leave) United Kingdom.

CTMs, like their national counterparts, protect the property rights of their owners. Their administration and processing are less expensive than a national trademark for each member country and cover up to three trademark classes. Detailed requirements regarding a mark's graphical representation support emerging, latest technologies, and non-traditional markings like, for example, holograms.


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.